False Pretenses.

There are times when you doubt your potential and question your motives; times when you wonder if you’re playing a losing hand. Then there are momentary blitzes of confidence; moments when you believe that you are made of the strongest metal that mother earth has to offer and no rust or chink can diminish your luster.

For me, this year is shaping up to be one of self-realization. Hopefully it is the precursor to a year of self-actualization… even so, in the mist of this transformation I can’t help but think of the times when I was terrified; times when I believed that the world was a scary and hurtful place that fed off its young and alienated its elderly.

I was jaded, frustrated and disappointed with life and its unnecessary politics.

Thankfully, Chuck told me not to believe the hype.

“All the critics you can hang’em
I’ll hold the rope
But they hope to the pope
And pray it ain’t dope”

About this entry