Modeling Roles.

A beloved professor of mine introduced me to the work of Jean-Paul Sartre, Existentialism and the theory of Bad Faith. His definition of bad faith:

“Because our own freedom is so terrifying, the vast majority of human beings seek to hide themselves from it. They do this by freezing themselves into some fixed social role. This action is called bad faith. So, instead of affirming my freedom and taking responsibility over each and every action I take, I label myself as something that is set and unchangeable. There are many examples of this. Think of the soldier being charged with crimes against humanity: ‘Don’t look at me, I am a soldier and just obeying orders.'”

This theory was quite familiar because I have witnessed Bad Faith being practice in almost every aspect of life. Of course I never titled it Bad Faith but a similar idea had been formed in my mind a long time ago. I noticed how human beings tended to relinquish control of their social and emotional freedom.

This then lead me to think of Professor Philip Zimbardo‘s Stanford Prison Experiment. I was amazed at how we human being can get lost in labels; how our life intention is reduced to modeling roles.

i.

ii.

iii.

iv.

v.

vi.

About this entry