My Funny Valentine: Elizabeth Stamatina “Tina” Fey (9 of 14)

This is a seasonal segment called “My Funny Valentine:…”. 14 comediennes who make my heart go boom.

Elizabeth Stamatina “Tina” Fey

Today’s Funny Valentine is Tina Fey. The epitome of geek chic, The Second City alum first sparked my interest in the film “Mean Girls”. I had seen Fey many times on SNL’s Weekend Update and but in “Mean Girls” she unveiled a librarian-esque sultriness that has haunted me ever since. I mean, I always thought Tina was cute but now she became hot.

Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t one of the bandwagoners who flocked after she lost 30 lbs. and started doing photo shoots with typewriters. My “Fey”-cination (lame word that I made up) started when she made her on-screen début as a portly extra on SNL in 1998. Fey began writing for SNL in 1997 and by 1999 she became the show’s first female head writer, “a milestone she downplays in light of the fact that there have not been very many head writers.”

In 2004 Fey made her film debut as writer and co-star of the teen comedy “Mean Girlsand she soon left SNL in 2006 to star in her own situation comedy (30 Rock), one that she had pitched to NBC in 2002.

In 2008 Fey solidified her sexy when she portrayed Republican vice-presidential candidate Sarah Palin, who was already somewhat of a sex symbol at the time. Her “freakishly spot-on” impersonation even won her an Emmy.

Here she is in action as Sarah Palin:

i.

About this entry