My Funny Valentine: Janeane Garofalo (7 of 14)

This is a seasonal segment called “My Funny Valentine:…”. 14 comediennes who make my heart go boom.

Janeane Garofalo

Today’s Funny Valentine is Janeane Garofalo. Janeane has always held a special place among my romantic constellation of comedic starlets. I first became googly-eyed for Garofalo when I saw her during her brief stint on SNL and again the 1997 film, Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion.

“Her appearance was often in line with late 1980s style: disheveled with thick black glasses and unkempt hair. Her comedy is often self-deprecating; she has made fun of popular culture and the pressures on women to conform to body image ideals promoted by the media.”

Janeane’s surly and sarcastic demeanor is an ultimate middle finger to the saying “You catch more bees with honey than you do with vinegar”. To me she was the anti-vixen. In a dramatic sense, it seems as if she demanded that you penetrate her mentally before having any knowledge of her flesh.

The Jersey native possesses an almost revolutionary intellectual beauty that falls nothing short of the beauty of her soft features and untamed brunette locks. She’s a staunch anti-war activist and “has had frequent on-air political disputes with Bill O’Reilly, Brian Kilmeade, and Jonah Goldberg.”

She’s also kept in touch with her inner child providing the voice of Colette, a chef in the Pixar/Disney feature film Ratatouille.

Janeane says of herself:

I guess I just prefer to see the dark side of things. The glass is always half empty. And cracked. And I just cut my lip on it. And chipped a tooth.”

 

Here is some of her classic stand-up from 1992:

About this entry