M.I.L.F.’s: Mothers I’d Like to Film. (7 of 9)

M.I.L.F.’s: Mothers I’d Like to Film” is a seasonal segment in honor of the upcoming Mother’s Day holiday. It is a series of desireable actresses who are known for playing mothers on television or in film.

Tisha Campbell (Tisha Campbell-Martin)

Now most remember Campbell as Martin Lawrence‘s girlfriend Gina Waters on the hilarious sitcom Martin but she also played the role of career woman turned housewife Janet “Jay” Kyle for 5 seasons on My Wife and Kids.

Campbell was born in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma but raised in Newark, New Jersey. “Campbell’s first TV appearance was at the age of 6, in a 1974 episode of the PBS show The Big Blue Marble. As a child, she competed in, and won, many talent shows, going on to appear in such children’s programs as Kids Are People Too, Unicorn Tales, and Captain Kangaroo. At age 18, she traveled to London to star as Chiffon, one of the Supremes-like ‘Greek Chorus,’ in the film version of Little Shop of Horrors along with future Martin co-star Tichina Arnold.”

After playing significant roles in School Daze & House Party Campbell released her debut album, Tisha, in 1993. “This album was a moderate success, selling 40,000 copies… She also contributed vocals for the soundtrack her 1997 film Sprung, singing on the remake of “Don’t Ask My Neighbor” with good friend, fellow actress and former co-star Tichina Arnold”

I’ve always had a celebrity crush Campbell… ever since House Party. She confirmed my affinity for light skinned women at very young age. Unlike anyone else on this, I can honestly say that I grew up loving this woman. From House Party to Martin; from My Wife & Kids to Everybody Hates Chris. Campbell has always been the apple(head) of my eye.

About this entry